Preparing for the Mumbai monsoon

Hi Everyone

One of the big talking points at the office now is the monsoon that is expected to come soon. Most foreigners do avoid traveling to a place when the monsoon season is there. But my Indian colleagues really look forward to this. They say that the rainy season is the best part of the year, where it is a bit cooler and the rain make everything fresher. One of my colleagues even said that in Mumbai you are quite lucky to have four different seasons; the hot spring, the rainy monsoon season, the not so hot autumn, and the nice, quite cool winter.

When he says like that, I really get to think about Norway, and how we say that we have four seasons there. We have the winter, with snow, and really, really cold. The spring, which is just fantastic. Sun in starting to come, all the snow disappears, and the daylight is there more and more for every day. Then off course it is the fantastic summer, which is actually quite nice, and mostly warm and sunny. And off course we have the autumn, which I think people do have really mixed feelings about. It starts to rain, get cooler, and the whole nature changes in colors, from green to more brown. Some people do hate it; while other thinks it is the most fantastic part of the year. This is when you really like to come home to a warm home after being out in the cold weather. My Indian colleague said that when he has been in Europe, he have felt it a bit different. As he said; it is either cold, or it is very cold. Guess we have some different understandings of words like hot and cold.

My colleagues tell me that the best thing to do during the monsoon is to sit down at the Chowpatty beach and just watch the rain come pouring down and the sea will look so much cleaner than what is mostly is. Well, I can understand and agree to that of seeing a sea that is clean, but to sit outside in the rain and get wet, I mean, to get soaked, voluntarily, would you really like to do that? As a Norwegian, I have learned that when the rain comes, you should try to get inside or at least get some shelter, so that you will not get a cold. Here in India, it seems to be exactly the opposite that people are eager to go outside and to play in the rain. Understand it if you can… But well, I’m here, so I guess I have to try it. But I will absolutely make sure that I have some dry clothes close by so that I can change before I get sick…

Talk to you soon!
Karsten

4 thoughts on “Preparing for the Mumbai monsoon

  1. Here an example how vocabulary is dependent on the environment. Many people in India tend to think ice and snow is one and the same thing. Its in my observation quite similar to how Norwegians use the word varm for everything in the spectrum from lukewarm to hot.

    Reply
    • Hi Tommy.

      I do really like this comparisson. In the sami language I think there are about 20 different words for snow, which is off course very important to them. But I would guess that they still only have one word for sun. Or maybe two; no sun and midnight sun 🙂

      Reply
  2. In Norway we have the means to be outside in – 10 and therfore its said to fin outside. Rain is a exotic commodity in India just as the sun in Norway. Apply the sun analogy to Mumbai and things should make more sense. It sort of is similar to the point I made about ” human beings are products of the environment”. The nature versus nurture debate is still on ….

    Reply
  3. Karsten,
    You should socialize this link (1 year in 40 secs) among your Indian friends. Eirik Solheim (of NRK) put this film together.

    (US TV-networks went bananas when he published this)

    PS! The monsoon keeps the pollution down too!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

