Eid

Hi Everyone

Today it is Eid her in Mumbai. Eid, is a Muslim holidaythat marks the end of Ramadan, the Islamic holy month of fasting sawm. Eid is an Arabic word meaning “festivity”. The holiday celebrates the conclusion of the twenty nine or thirty days of dawn-to-sunset fasting during the entire month of Ramadan. The first day of Eid, therefore, falls on the first day of the month Shawwal.

From last year I do remember that I thought it was kind of weird that there was such a big Muslim area around. I have had the impression that Hinduism is the most important religion in India. I do still think that Hinduism is clearly the biggest religion here, but the Muslim mosques are quite visible in the area where I live. When I woke up in the morning, I could clearly hear the prayers from the closest mosque. You can see it at the picture below. The mosque is the big building at the left part of the picture. The people dressed in white are devotees. I’m not really sure why they stand on the street outside, but it might be because it is just not room for everyone inside the mosque.

Tomorrow will be the first day of the Ganesh festival! That is probably the biggest Hindu festival in Mumbai, and something I really look forward to. Last year I did write a post that summed up that festival. Let’s see if I feel things different this year!

Talk to you soon!

Karsten

Leave a Reply

