Chetan Bhagat and revolution 2020

Hi Everyone

Last Friday, Chetan Bhagat launched his latest book, Revolution 2020. Chetan who?, some of you might say, particularly those of you who are in Norway. Chetan Bhagat is probably the most popular Indian writer right now. The New York Times called him the ‘the biggest selling English language novelist in India’s history.’ Time magazine named him in the “100 Most Influential People in the world” and Fast Company, USA listed him as one of the world’s “100 most creative people in business.”

I first came across him by chance in 2008 (I think) when I picked up his book “3 mistakes in my life”. It was the intention that I should read it on a long train journey from Mumbai to Jaipur. But I actually ended up by finishing it at my hotel room the same night, and had to get another book for the long train journey… After that, I have bought and read all of his books. One of them, “2 states” I have actually bought 5 times! Well, I don’t have 5 copies of that book, but I have given it away to friends a couple of times. To me this is maybe the one book that best describes the diverse India. It is a novel, so it is very easy to read, and also quite funny.

So when I got to know that he would launch his book at a huge shopping mall in Mumbai, I off course just had to go there! I didn’t really know what to expect, well,
maybe except for a huge crowd. And a huge crowd it surely was! You could immediately understand that he is a very popular writer with the vast number that was present there. He had also pitched in the Bollywood actress Sonam Kapoor. I guess that was a really good idea. Add some Bollywood flavor, and you are sure to attract a huge crowd. I managed to get four signed copies, and have started to distribute them among my friends here in Mumbai.

And the book? Well, I finished it Monday evening, after having started on Saturday. So even if I had a quite hectic weekend, it was that good that it was impossible not to read through it quickly. If you like to know more about it, I guess you should go about and buy it

Talk to you soon!

Karsten

Leave a Reply

