Hosting a football tournament

Hi everyone

Some people have asked me if living in India have changed me as a person. Honestly, I don’t think I’m the right person to answer that question. But one thing is for sure; seeing some of the poverty I have seen in India have made me realize how privileged I’m by having what I have. No, I don’t say that I’m happier than those who have so much less than me, but it is for sure that I have many more opportunities than what some other people have.

In previous blog posts I have written about helping underprivileged girls with their education through the Nanhi Kali program and also about some of my trips to Dharavi. The latest trips to Dharavi have been organized by a NGO called Reality Gives. As I have now been on a number of trips with them, I’m on their e-mail list and regularly get updates about their work.

A few days ago I got an e-mail where they describe one of their new projects, which is to host football tournaments for girls! This is done in association with another NGO called YUWA. The project started in the state Jharkhand, which is one of the poorest states in India, and also a state I have never visited. This state is known for child marriage, human trafficking and lack of opportunities for girls. This state is ranked 24th at the human development index and 27th in terms of literacy. During the years I have heard a number of alarming stories about how girls are being treated in different areas. Some of the stories are so sad that I don’t even want to talk about them.

So when this opportunity came, I’m more than happy to pay £49 to host a football tournament. If YOU would like to do the same, please click at the home page to Global giving and donate today.

Now I’m looking forward to an invitation to my very own football tournament, in Dharavi or Jharkhand.

Talk to you soon

Karsten

3 thoughts on “Hosting a football tournament

  1. Hello Karsten, you’ve inspired me this morning! (My husband and I just returned from a 5-month sabbatical in Asia, and I felt much the same as what you described here.)

    How long have you lived in India?

    Reply
  2. A few blog posts before you wondered about there being only 3 seasons in India I hope I am not too late to explain the reason. India is located just above the equator and the sun begins to travel in the upward direction directly above India during the monsoon months this clashes with monsoon hence we don’t feel the heat because of the relief the monsoon rain provides so technically speaking monsoon season is our summer months Hence it being in between summer and winter.

    On a more recent post Thank you for helping out in Dharavi I hope lots more people help out. I will do my best to do so.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

