Bombay hash

Hi Everyone
Yesterday it was time to take part in of the more traditional English, or maybe I should say British, events. And mind you, I didn’t say that this is THE most traditional British event, as well, Britain is full of traditions.

Anyway, we were doing “hashing”. And no, this has nothing to do with any narcotic substances. Hashing is, as I said, a very old British tradition that is some kind of a pub crawl. Except that it is more of running and less of crawling. And the way we did it yesterday, it was actually not that many pubs involved either. Hashing originated in December 1938 in Kuala Lumpur, then in the Federated Malay States (now Malaysia), when a group of British colonial officers and expatriates began meeting on Monday evenings to run, in a fashion patterned after the traditional British Paper Chase or “Hare and Hounds”, to rid themselves of the excesses of the previous weekend.


I had to wake up at 6 o’clock in the morning, as the event took place at some area a few hours’ drive from Mumbai. It was some kind of a farm that was the venue for the event. When we got there, we were given some directions about a track for running. And of we went! And it was really, really, really hot. We started in a positive mood with some serious running, but soon realized that it was a bit too ambitions to run to hard, so we had to slow down and walk most of the trip. I did the normal, stupid think to not carry enough water, and to forget to use sun cream all over the places. So today I’m on the office with a bad red neck. When will I learn? But for sure, it was really nice to be around in the “wilderness” outside Mumbai. I have maybe said it in blog posts before, but I have no problem to repeat that I do really like to take the opportunities to get out of the city when possible. The area outside Mumbai is actually quite good for trips like this.
After we came back to the farm, it was time for some beers, and to get to know other people who were there. There was also some “rituals” for us who did this for the first time. As I hope that some of you readers will take part of this event shortly, I don’t want to tell too much detail about these things.

I do really like to do things like this for sure! It both gives me an opportunity to get out from Mumbai, and it also gives an opportunity to meet a lot of new people, and even people from a completely different background and who do different things than what I do. This is what make life in Mumbai so rich!
Talk to you soon!
Karsten

Leave a Reply

