What cricket can teach us about culture

Hi Everyone

Hope you are doing well and that 2013 have treated you well so far. For me, I must admit that it could have been a bit better. My 2013 started with being down with flu for a week or so. But well, life can be much worse than that isn’t it?

One advantage, if you like, by being home with flu is that you can watch YouTube without having to worry about what your boss think about it. Fine, I agree that if you’re well enough to watch YouTube, you’re maybe also well enough to work. But well, I didn’t watch that much of YouTube.

Bowling class

Anyway, something I have to admit that I watched (and even a few times) is this small piece of cricket instruction. And well, it’s maybe good as cricket instruction, but I think it is also quite interesting from a cultural point of view. Muttiah Muralitharan (or Murali as most people say) is maybe the best bowler in cricket history. Or as the commentator say, at least the best one who are not by now married to Liz Hurley. But he’s also from Sri Lanka. And nothing wrong about people from Sri Lanka, but I do think they have some similarities to Indians. For example regarding their attitude towards dogs. I must quickly say that I know a number of people in Mumbai who really care about dogs, and I do like dogs myself. Still I find it quite funny when the commentator struggles to hit the wicket and he says that he should pretend the dog and the ball is a stone and he should try to hit the dog! And look at his eyes when he says that. You can clearly see that Murali have thrown stones at dogs a number of times before! Swann at the other hand, who is an English gentleman, as gentle as only English gentlemen can be, quickly say that he should not hit the dog, just scare him.

I think I have read somewhere that a dog is something that can mean most different things dependent on where you are in the world. In Norway most people think about dogs as pets. In India, and I guess also Sri Lanka, they are dirty animals than no one cares about (mostly). In other parts of the world it is top class food!

The morale from this story is that you shouldn’t always think that things are what you think they are when you just hear someone mentioning something. Another simple example of that is that in India a bike mostly means a motorcycle, while translated to Norwegian a bike could very well be a cycle, which you pedal to get speed. So when someone say something to you, do pay attention to what are being said, and in what context!

And if you think Murali can only hit dogs, take a look at this master bowling:

coin competition

Talk to you soon!

Karsten

Leave a Reply

